Star Wars Episode III: The Elephant in the Room

So here in Spain, last week was a vacation for me and because all my friends were off with family, I was left to my lonesome for 6 days and I had myself a Star Wars Prequel trilogy viewing. Now I am a HUGE Star Wars guy but my go to movie when I want to watch one of them is always Empire. Being a fan of all of them and always hearing chirping about the prequel, I re-watched for the millionth time but decided to do more analysis.

My biggest take away was not how awful Jar Jar is, how blatantly anti-Semitic the character Watto is or  the fact that the two best characters (Qui-gon and Darth Maul) both die in the first movie. The worst part is by far the acting of Hayden Christensen in arguably the most important role in the whole series. 

There are scenes in episode 3 where you question how in the universe did George Lucas sitting in his directors chair say “that’s perfect Hayden!” Its mind numbing. Thousands of actors had to be trying for the part of Anakin Skywalker. He just seems whiny through all the important parts when he is really questioning everything he knows about being a Jedi. Guys like Samuel L, Ewan McGregor, Natalie Portman, must have thought he sucked as did I. 

Doesn’t ruin the series as a whole though. Obviously 4,5, and 6 will always trump 1,2,and 3 and the story as a whole, The tragedy of Anakin Skywalker will always be one for the ages. 

Foz

Sidenote: I’d be lying if I said I wasn’t giddy for the release of episode 7 in December of 2015. 

Leave a Reply

